Sunday, September 11, 2011

India beat Pakistan on penalties (4-2) to win Asian Champions Trophy 2011

Continuing unbeaten streak at the tournament, India beat arch-rivals Pakistan 4-2 on penalties in the Final of the inaugural Asian Champions Trophy (Men’s) in Ordos, China. Both teams played an attacking game but failed to find the target in stipulated time of 70 minutes and extra time of 15 minute, and result of the match had to be decided by penalties. Pakistan reached the final after drawing with India in the final round robin match and were leaders in the final points table with 10 point while unbeaten India were second 9 points. In the tie breaker, Rajpal Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Yuvraj Walmiki and Sarvanjit Singh, while Gurvinder Singh Chandi could not score in his attempt on Pakistan’s Goalie Imran Shah. The tie-breaker was a one on one between the striker and the goalkeeper, Striker had to starts from the 23 meter line and was given only eight seconds to score. This way of tie-breaker is known as Penalty Shoot-out and it is in testing phase by FIH.

No comments:

Post a Comment